a hodgelany

Posted: March 13, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve had quite a lot of blog posts that I’ve been meaning to do. However, none of them are particularly long, definitely not long enough for a full blog post. So, I’ve decided to make a hodgelany of all of them together. (Hodgelany is a word coined by Patrick Rothfuss. It’s just what it sounds like: a combination of a hodgepodge and a miscellany.)

 

People often say that California has no seasons. Even people from California say this (as with my dad’s saying, “California has two seasons. One where it sometimes rains and one where it never rains.”). But this isn’t true. California has four seasons, just like anywhere else in the temperate zone. Our seasons are just subtle. The people who think that California doesn’t have seasons are just confused because there isn’t snow covering everything for five months out of the year (and, in fact, it does snow a lot in California, just not in the parts that people think of when they hear the word “California”: basically, everything south of Pasadena).

Right now, it’s springtime in the area around Santa Cruz. The hills around the city are bright green, so green that it feels like I’m in Ireland (well, sort of: Ireland doesn’t have eucalyptus or live oaks). When I take the bus home from class, it drives out along Empire Grade from the western entrance of campus, with the afternoon sun shining on the ocean. I hate the light– I often joke that I’m a vampire, since two of my favorite things are darkness and incredibly rare meat– but I can see why people like it, when it’s as pretty as it is on the bus rides home.

 

I got the first two Assassin’s Creed games for Christmas. They are INCREDIBLE.

Let me just put this out there: if Ubisoft were ever to make an Assassin’s Creed game set in 1600s Japan, that would be it. I would need no other games. Game development, as a science and art, would be over.

BALL’S IN YOUR COURT, UBISOFT MONTREAL.

 

It makes me feel like a traitor to my state every time I say it, but I’ll say it anyway: Five Guys Burgers and Fries is better than In-N-Out Burger.

I know, I know. In-N-Out Burger is a California landmark, and I should be proud to eat there. But honestly, their burgers just aren’t as good as Five Guys’ In-N-Out’s burgers feel too perfect. They’re neat and tidy and all pretty much the same. Whereas Five Guys’ burgers are enormous, drooling things that ooze grease and can be contained by no bun: just like a burger should be. Plus their fries are better. Plus they give you free peanuts.

Seriously: if there were a Five Guys in Santa Cruz, then my life would end. My arteries would turn into nothing more than tubes of grease, and I would die, fat and happy, with my face down in an enormous basket of Cajun fries.

NOM NOM NOM NOM NOM

If you don’t feel your brain exploding at the sight of this picture, I’m sorry. We can’t be friends.

 

Interestingly enough, I’ve gotten back into Magic: The Gathering.

What happened is that Gabby’s brother Julian and Calum’s friend Forrest came over for dinner last week, and they brought their Magic cards, because as you can imagine, they are huge goddamn nerds, as am I. Well, Calum and I have a box of Magic cards dating back to 2003 (yes, I haven’t played Magic seriously since Seventh Edition), so Calum brought it down so that Julian and Forrest could look through them, things continued to happen, I made a deck, and now Calum and I have been playing Magic regularly.

In fact, I’ve taken to making my own cards:

ianjohnsonmagic

 

I believe that if I ever need to make business cards, they will look something like this.

 

That’s all for now. Keep your stick on the ice.

~ Ian

Leave a Reply

