isn’t this where we came in?

Posted: January 1, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

One year ago today, Axolotl Ceviche began.

I remember where I was when I began this blog. I was at Kirkwood, sitting at the bottom of a staircase, trying to get the page set up while practically everyone in the place yelled at me for blocking the stairs.

I’m at Kirkwood now, and it seems strange to me that I’m here again. It’s like coming full circle, a snake eating its tail.

2012 was a long year for me. A hard year, too, in many ways; but then again, all years are hard in their own particular way when you’re an Aspie in the world of neurotypicals. (I haven’t really talked all that much about my Asperger’s Syndrome on this blog, have I? I’m going to have to rectify that at some point.) But it was a year of huge progress for me in my writing.

I got my first rejection letter, and felt slightly relieved.

I wrote the first draft of “Cassandra” (which I’ll really have to finish up one of these days), which I suspect might be the best thing I’ve ever written.

Plus there’s the fact that I’ve written 100,000 words of a novel, and I’m within spitting distance of finishing the first draft as we speak.

A lot happened in 2012: some of it good, some of it not so good; some of which I shared with you, some of which I kept to myself. (After all, I do have a personal life, and not everything that happens to me goes up on this blog.)

I think 2013 will be the year when I’m going to keep refining. I’ll finish The Lotus Imperiate, and hopefully get a large chunk of the second draft finished. (My goal is to sell tLI by 2018, which I think is completely doable.) I’ve got an idea for a YA fantasy novel that I think is really cool. And I hope to do all those things that are in many ways more important than writing: I’ll go to school, and get a job, and hang out with friends, and (hopefully) get a girlfriend, although I think I have to master other things in the social universe before I get up to that level.

2012 was long, and it was wild. I don’t know what 2013 will bring, for any of us, any more than anyone else.

But for me, and for all of you, I hope that it will be awesome.

~ Ian

(Pink Floyd, “Outside the Wall”/”In the Flesh?”)

Leave a Reply

