i want to lie shipwrecked and comatose

Posted: December 6, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I’ve been taking a break from really strenuous writing for the last couple of days, mostly working on a few side projects that really need revision at the moment. I’ve got a lot of hope for The Lotus Imperiate, and I assume that it’s going to be my first novel (well, not really my “first” novel, but the first one that I’m going to have published), but even so, it’s nice to take a break from the world of the Lotus Lords, and the crazy whacked-out conflicts between gods and mortals that are brewing there. Madness, I know, but still.

Although, I’m looking forward to the next draft, mostly because of the awesome changes that I’m going to put into the world. I’ve got a whole lot of ideas for the culture of Koroshi, the Japanese-analogue empire that is one of the two main countries in the world of tLI, especially revolving around the complicated politics and the caste system. I have to do a lot of research into the actual history and class system of Japan, of course, but that’s going to be part of the fun. After class today, I’m probably going to head up to the McHenry library on campus, and find some books on feudal Japan. I’m aware, though, that Koroshi is not Japan, just like Tai Sho (the other main nation in the world) is not China, and the Northerners are not necessarily Europeans. I’ve got ideas for their cultures that have nothing to do with the real world. And, after all, this is fantasy. I don’t want to restrict myself to actual history. I want to go off into strange new worlds. Japanese and Chinese culture is amazing and fascinating, of course, but there’s only so far you can take reality before it starts to get boring. I need to do research, of course– every fantasy writer does, after all, even if they’re writing a standard Medieval European fantasy novel– but even so, I want the world to be fresh and new, not something people have seen a million times before.

And then there’s the other stuff. One of my characters, Mara, is a little bit dull at the moment, but that’s going to change in the second draft. I’ve got so many cool ideas for what I’m going to do with her character. The book is told from multiple characters’ POVs, so I’m thinking that I want to do something that I haven’t seen anyone else do in fantasy, and have each POV character’s be told in a different person and tense. For example, Mara’s story, and that of Kitt Ashlocke, the Northern thief, basically beg to be told in first person. We need to be inside their heads, hear their voices. And I’ve got great ideas for what I’m going to do with the Lotus Lords, the actual god characters… Just you wait! It’s going to be so cool!

*ahem* Sorry. I’m the only one who’s read any of The Lotus Imperiate so far. I understand that it has to be boring listening to some guy rambling about things that are in his head and his head only. But I’m just so damn excited. Knowing what this book already is, and what it’s going to become… well, that’s an amazing feeling.

It’s a good feeling, when you get excited about something that you made, all by yourself.

~ Ian

 

Leave a Reply

