Soundtrack to the Story: “The Lotus Imperiate”

Posted: October 26, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

November is almost here, and that’s when I’m going to be doing the bulk of the work on The Lotus Imperiate, which currently stands at about forty percent of the way done with the first draft. (Note to self: I should get a little “loading bar” widget on Axolotl Ceviche that shows how far I have to go until I finish a project. You know. Like Brandon Sanderson has on his website.)

Since I listen to music while I’m writing, I usually have several songs that go well with what I’m working on. These are them. If you like, you can make a playlist out of them, and pretend you’re reading a book that nobody has ever lain eyes on but me.

Actually, no. That would be kind of stupid.

 

“A Change of Seasons”, Dream Theater

“Breaking Into Heaven”, The Stone Roses

“Cantara”, Dead Can Dance

“Echoes”, Pink Floyd

“Hong Kong”, Gorillaz

“I Am The One (Dark Fantasy Version)”, Inon Zur

“Kids With Guns (Schtung Chinese New Year Remix)”, Gorillaz

“Modern Meat”, Animals as Leaders

“Piece for Solo Flute (Live)”, Dead Can Dance

“She Bangs the Drums”, The Stone Roses

“Sorrow”, Pink Floyd

“Tarata Women’s Working Song”, Joe Hisaishi

“The Battle of Evermore”, Led Zeppelin

“The Legend of Ashitaka”, Joe Hisaishi

“The Human Game”, Lisa Gerrard

“The Ubiquitous Mr. Lovegrove”, Dead Can Dance

 

Actually, you know what isn’t on this list? Traditional Asian music. I really should get some, since tLI is set in an Asian-themed fantasy universe. Or even some more modern music played on traditional East Asian instruments.

If any of my more musically-inclined readers know any good traditional Asian music for me to get, leave me a note in the comments. I’d love to get some suggestions.

~ Ian

Leave a Reply

