The tower’s built of spit and spite, without a sound, without a sight. The biter bit, the bitter bite. (It’s better to be out at night.)

Posted: September 12, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

As of today, The Lotus Imperiate (my current pet project) is 45,811 words long. Which makes me feel pretty good, actually.

I mean, I’ve written things of that length before. But usually I give up after I’ve written about thirty thousand words of the novel, scrapping it and moving on to something else.

I don’t really know what’s different with tLI. I have a feeling about what makes it different, though. For the first time when I’m writing a novel, I know that the idea isn’t bad from the start. I’m aware that my ideas aren’t complete ass to begin with, and so I know that whether I succeed or fail, whether I write a publishable first novel or tLI goes to the graveyard of the poorly-executed first drafts (which I really hope it doesn’t– I like the story, like the characters, and feel like it’s something that people will want to read) is all up to me.

But I think I know some of what’s different. I’ve been blogging. Having people read and comment on my writing hasn’t been a pipe dream for a while now. I’ve been doing it. And people have been liking what I write, which feels good. In a lot of ways, Axolotl Ceviche has allowed me to feel more… I dunno, confident as a writer. Even if I only have a few readers, the idea that I’m not a writer sitting alone in a vacuum is heartening. And energizing. And all other kinds of ing.

Plus, I would really put my foot in my ass if I talked all about the stuff I’ve been writing and failed to deliver. That would really cement my wannabe status. Since I’ve promised that someday I would have a novel for you guys to read, I’m doing everything I can to deliver that promise. And I’m going to do the best I can to make it really, really good.

I really like The Lotus Imperiate. It’s all rough, unshaped potential right now, but that’ll change. All I have to do is make with the writings.

~ Ian

PS: The title has nothing to do with tLI or writing or anything. It’s a quote from “Fifteen Painted Cards from a Vampire Tarot”, a Neil Gaiman short story that I have a weird affection for.

PPS: 150 posts on Axolotl Ceviche! WOOOOO!

Leave a Reply

