blogging about writing so you all know why i haven’t been blogging

Posted: July 19, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

So, updates have been rather sporadic lately. Yes, I’ve consistently posted a new chapter of The Epic Legend of Damien Fell for the last three weeks, but as you all know, that isn’t really me. So I just thought I’d check in and say why I’ve been sporadic in my duties as a bloggist for the last month.

I’ve been working on a novel. It’s provisionally titled The Lotus Imperiate. Now, I’ve been well aware that I’ve had problems with titles in the past. But I don’t hate this title with a fiery passion (which isn’t the case with some of my other fictions), and so it may be the final title of the novel. Right now, all my brain has been occupied with coming up with ideas for this book, and not with stuff for my blog. So there.

Of course, it’s kind of funny. When I was writing Cassandra, it kicked off a massive flurry of blogging activity on Axolotl Ceviche. That’s not the case now, though. With tLI, I’ve been kind of hesitant to blog about my writing process. In fact, I’d go so far as to call myself reticent: I feel like if I told you guys anything about what I’ve been doing for the last month, everything would dry up. So I won’t share too much with you guys right now. I will say, though, that it’s a fantasy novel set in an Asian-inspired universe, and that the main plot revolves around a conspiracy to murder the gods. You know. Uplifting stuff.

I’m even going to share an excerpt from the book with you, right now! Brace yourselves.

Ready?

*ahem*

 

After

 

And that’s the first word of The Lotus Imperiate. Or at least it is right now. It might not be, once I’ve gone through a crapton of editing and revising.

So. That’s what I’ve been doing. How’s your Thursday?

~ Ian

Comments
  1. Yer hilarious! Thanks for the laugh! I just wrote about ideas for blogging so your post here struck a chord with me.

Leave a Reply

