Maker Faire: The Makening, Episode V (The Paella Strikes Back)

Posted: May 20, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Gaaah… tired…

I promised you guys a second Maker Faire post though, so here it is.

My previous post brought you guys up to lunchtime. With that in mind, I’m going to talk some about the things that happened after lunch. Here we are with Episode V (which, not surprisingly, is the best of the trilogy), which contains giant cast-iron sculptures that shoot flame, children engaged in combat, and snails.

 

What does one have for lunch at the Maker Faire? Well, typically, a big plate of this:

This is paella. For those of you who don’t know, paella is a Spanish dish that is prepared by taking a net, dragging it across the bottom of the sea, and cooking whatever you catch in it.

It’s by far the most popular dish at the Maker Faire, so the line was huge. As much as I enjoy todos los mariscos, I decided to avoid the line, instead choosing to get a gigantic gyro and a cup of lemonade that had no sugar in it, so it tasted more like watered-down lemon juice.

 

This face loomed over the eating area.

Its eyes, eyelids, eyebrows, and lips moved. Rest assured, this was CREEPY AS FUCK.

 

Snails, making art.

 

The SCA was there, allowing small children to sample the art of warfare…

 

…as well as pursuits of a more peaceful nature.

 

3D printers were there in abundance.

 

 

 

 

 

Now, this next section is so incredibly awesome that I need you guys to brace yourselves…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Are you ready?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You sure?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Okay, check this out…

SCULPTURES THAT SHOOT FLAME.

 

This image doesn’t appropriately convey the size of this giant iron dandelion (and, by the way, Yrön Dåndélyönn is the name of my new black metal band).

It’s about twenty feet tall.

 

Not really a fire-shooting sculpture, but this thing was cool and looked like something you’d see in a Fallout game.

 

Of course, this was the thing that made the heavy metal fan in me die a little with joy…

A GIGANTIC IRON DRAGON SCULPTURE.

THAT IS ALSO A CHILDREN’S PLAY STRUCTURE.

AND A SOUNDSYSTEM.

BAD.

ASS.

 

I was gazing raptly at this giant, beautiful monstrosity, thinking, This is one of the coolest things at the Maker Faire so far. The only thing that would be better is if it could breathe fire. 

The second I thought that, this happened:

BY THE HAMMER OF THOR YES.

This was the shortest turnaround from dream to reality that I’ve ever experienced.

I never got the names of the people who made this beautiful piece of congealed epic.

I bet we could hang out.

 

Actually, you know what? I’m having an upcoming D&D campaign this summer. Now, it’s a bit of a stretch, considering the medieval fantasy setting I’m considering, but I kind of want to put this monstrosity in my campaign.

Although…

My friend Finn has been on me to make a steampunk-themed campaign. If I ever do that, I’m definitely going to put this thing into the story.

You know. Because steampunk D&D campaigns absolutely HAVE to have a fire-breathing robot dragon.

I think it’s in the DMG.

 

This fellow had a nice bicycle.

Since I mentioned that I wanted this picture for my blog, he gave me the business card for his website, in case any of my ten regular readers are interested in wooden bikes with piratical themes. They’re called Masterworks Wood and Design, and they’re based in San Jose.

You know. Check them out.

That’s all for today. My trilogy of Maker Faire retrospectives wraps up tomorrow, so stay tuned.

Now my reward… blessed, blessed sleep.

~ Ian

Leave a Reply

