l’heure de l’or

Posted: May 18, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Since I haven’t played around with my camera for a while, I decided that I’d run around Cowell, Stevenson, and the East Field today, taking pictures of things.

The light quality was kind of interesting: sort of a diffuse, white light. The fog’s rolling in off of the bay tonight, and you can tell by some of the mist in these pictures.

Here we go:

I’ve talked before about how the redwoods on campus are very small redwoods. Here is a demonstration of the size of some of these puny dwarves of the species Sequoia sempervirens.

Like I said.

Shrimpy.

If I were a Cowell student, then I assume that this would be the dorm where I would live.

I presume that this house is reserved for manly men with manly beards. Of which I am, and have.

Cowell College, with random students.

The deer were very obliging, and let me photograph them.

AAAAH A GIANT DEER IS MAKING ITS WAY TOWARDS THE BASKETBALL COURT

THE DEER HAS A LUST FOR BLOOD

OR SO I PRESUME

A Bases-Ball game.

I SAY, ANYONE FOR SPORTSBALL????????

This “pedestrian crossing” was so named not because it was a crossing for pedestrians, but because it’s really run-of-the-mill and dull.

A tree, aglow in heavenly light.

It tried to talk to me. But since it was not a burning bush, I paid it no heed.

The famed Goat Statue of Cowell College.

There are a lot of myths about this statue. The truth is actually rather boring. But ask any UCSC student to tell you the story behind this statue, and you’ll get a beautiful, poignant story that explains why one of the school policies came to be and is entirely made up.

I really like the composition of this picture. Something about the combination of the rigid geometry of the plaza, the off-kilter angle, and the organic chaos of the plants growing on the trellis makes this a cool image to me.

*ratatosk*

I also like the composition of this one. Very much a two-point perspective view, if I were a painter.

IT’S A SNAKE IT’S A SNAKE OOOOOH IT’S A SNAKE

I could not find a badger or a mushroom. Which is a good thing– badgers are friggin’ scary, man.

I don’t know about the mushrooms, though.

Any film buffs, Goths, or vampire aficionados in the audience should recognize this house.

It played an important part in the movie Lost Boys.

A tree, with some peeps.

Some light, shining through the mist.

I’m going to be going to Maker Faire tomorrow, so there will be more picture blogs coming up. In any case, here’s some pictures that I done took. With mah camera.

Love,

~ Ian

Leave a Reply

