Things I Love: May 4, 2012 Edition

Posted: May 4, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,
  • The Dragon Age: Origins soundtrack. The songs are all utterly beautiful– ESPECIALLY “I Am The One (Dark Fantasy Version)”. It’s one of the best songs from a video game ever– I don’t see why some gamers want to go back to the era of chiptunes.
  • Multiplayer in SSX. The rest of the game is underwhelming (more thoughts on that later) but the online play is pure candy. 
  • Feed Dump. This may actually be my favorite LoadingReadyRun production– and it has a run for its money, considering how much I also love CommodoreHustle and GPLP. 
  • The fact that I’m going to see The Avengers tomorrow. JOSS WHEDON WHERE ARE YOU WHEN I NEED YOU. 
  • Gregory Benford’s novel Timescape. It’s really rare that a hard SF novel has ever made me care about the characters, and when it does, it’s always impressive. 
  • Neil Gaiman’s short stories. Okay, okay, I love them anytime. But struggling with “Cassandra” has made me realize that it’s not always easy to make a short story as effortless and unforced as Gaiman can do it. 
  • The McHenry Library at UCSC. Seriously– my time at college would be much more boring if it weren’t for that library. 
And that’s all for today. I have things to do. 
Love,
~ Ian
Leave a Reply

