Creative Writing Wednesday: “Hold On To Me”

Posted: March 14, 2012 in Creative Writing Wednesday
Tags: , ,

It is no secret that the most undeniably badass people on any ski slope are the blind skiers.

Blind skiers are relatively common: I see one or two of them every day when I go skiing. They’re pretty easy to see: they wear orange vests that say BLIND SKIER in big black letters. In addition, they have a guide behind them, who tells the blind skier information about the slopes below, while holding onto them with ropes, which the guide uses to help the skier down the mountain.

…That was a terrible description, wasn’t it?

Here, I’ll just show you a picture:

I think that the blind skier, to put his/her trust so completely into the hands of someone else, is incredibly brave. I don’t usually say this out loud, certainly not on my lame blog, but I have trust issues. Serious ones.

So I don’t think that I could put my life into someone else’s hands as completely as a blind skier does with his/her guide.

Like I said. Badass.

In any case, I decided to use the blind skier as a central metaphor in a short free-verse love poem. Enjoy.

~ Ian

 

Hold On To Me

 

I am

a blind skier

hurtling unseeing into darkness

not knowing what’s ahead of me

not knowing the dangers ahead

plunging unheeding towards destruction.

 

You are

my sighted guide

always guiding me past the rocks and ice

always keeping hold of my leash

always steering me in the right direction

always guiding me away from the end.

 

And I know

you will always hold on to me.

Comments
  1. Will Forest says:

    I like this one. The metaphor is as powerful as a brick in the face.

Leave a Reply

