I can make changes if I want to. It’s my blog.

Posted: February 24, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

So I changed around the appearance here on Axolotl Ceviche.

  • The most noticeable change is, of course, the theme. And I have to say, I’m a bit relieved. The old theme that I was using (Black Letter something or other) was ugly as sin, and barely even customizable. So I ditched it, and now I’m using another free theme that I thought was WAY more attractive. It’s called ChaoticSoul, in case you were wondering.
  • A second change is the tag cloud on the right. First of all, I wasn’t really thinking about utility when I added the tag names: I just put down amusing song lyrics, or funny turns of phrase, without thinking about the utility of the thing. So the tags were cute, yes, but not really functional. I changed them so that if you’re looking for information on my (still unpublished) short story “The Girl in the Junkyard”, then you can click on the tag that will show you all the posts where I’ve tagged it. Instead of being cute, it’s USEFUL, dammit.
  • I changed the header description, which was originally: “Writing. Geekery. Sarcasm. Reasonably Priced Love. And a Hard-Boiled Egg.” Again, I wasn’t really thinking when I created the header, since I just went with a couple of things off the top of my head that I wanted this blog to provide and added in a Terry Pratchett reference. This next one, “Committing Crimes Against the English Language Since 2012”, is kind of funny (since 2012 isn’t over yet– hell, it’s barely even begun), and in my old tag system, I had a tag called “crimes against the english language”, which was my category for original fiction. I liked the idea of being a contra-English criminal, so I didn’t want to let it die. Thus, the new header caption.
  • Finally, I put a picture of some mountains up in the header. I took that picture, actually. It’s just to the east of Kirkwood, on Highway 88.

So, what do you think? Better? Worse?

~ Ian

Leave a Reply

