The things you find randomly…

Posted: February 6, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I found this on my hard drive recently, and I have no idea where it comes from.

I mean, I know I wrote it. I looked up several random phrases on Google, and got no results. The problem is, I just don’t know when.

The Pages document says that it was last modified September 9, 2011 (s0 just after my birthday, and just before fall quarter started). As for the content, well… here it is. Consider it a kind of bonus Creative Writing Wednesday for this week, even though I’m starting to suspect that it was put on my hard drive by magical writing pixies.

~ Ian

 

 

THE TRAGEDIE OF LUCAS SKY-WALKER, PART II

 

ACT V SCENE II

 

(Enter SKY-WALKER.)

 

SKY-WALKER:

To this majestic city in the sky

Have I come across the void of black space

Searching for my friends; and yet found them not

And I know not if they be quick or dead.

It is a cursed thing, to never know

Whether one’s efforts shall be successful

Or, by unlucky hap, doom’d to failure.

For these long months have I been sep’rated

From them, sequester’d on a swampy rock

As far from them as black Hell from Heav’n,

Exerting myself in wholesome labours

Till I achieve my goal. Aye, a Jedi

I’ll become, and to the Death Star away

and kill foul Palpatine for liberty

And dead Kenobi. But first I must do

What ev’ry man must: protect my friends.

Though I am not yet a Jedi, I am strong,

And let no man say my courage is false.

–But soft, someone approacheth:

 

(Enter VADER.)

 

VADER:

Sky-walker,

Bane of the Empire, Palpatine’s curs’d foe,

It pleaseth me greatly to see thee here.

For I will strike thee down, and with your death

Deal a mighty blow to the rebellion

As may cause its death.

 

SKY-WALKER:

Strike me down you may,

Lord Vader, but even so, the Rebellion

Shall live on. As long as there is bravery

Within the hearts of men, and strength enough

To lift a sword, then we will carry on.

So kill me, Vader, but that will not end

The Rebel Alliance. So, come at me,

Vader, put up your sword.

 

VADER:

Thou hast courage,

Sky-walker, but thou art not a Jedi.

 

SKY-WALKER:

Not yet, ‘tis true, but I have strength enough.

 

(They fight.)

 

VADER:

Thou art valiant, boy. Long-dead Kenobi

Hath taught thee full well.

 

SKY-WALKER:

Aye, he hath taught me

Enough to leave you dead.

 

(They fight. Vader severs Sky-Walker’s hand.)

 

VADER:

Now admit defeat, young Luke Sky-Walker,

And know this, that thou art the weaker one.

I claim victory; I am the master.

But before thou diest, apprentice Jedi,

I must know: had Obi-wan told to thee

what happen’d to your father?

 

SKY-WALKER:

He told me all;

He told me that you were his murderer,

And that you kill’d him.

 

VADER:

He was a liar.

Nay, Sky-walker, Kenobi told it false:

I am thy father.

 

SKY-WALKER:

It cannot be! You speak naught but falsehood!

 

VADER:

Look within thy heart and search thy feelings.

Thou knowest I speak truth.

 

SKY-WALKER:

Cursed am I,

that Master Kenobi never told me!

 

VADER:

So know this, Sky-walker: I shall grant you

A choice: you may die by my hand, and thus

Shall a great enemy to the Empire

Fall in the field of battle. However,

Another choice may be yet granted thee.

Join me; stay at my right hand. Together,

As Emperors over the galaxy

Shall we rule, lords of all we survey,

Father and son, like Jove and Apollo,

Masters of the heavens. What say you, son?

 

SKY-WALKER:

I say ye nay.

 

VADER:

So be it; a soldier’s

Death you die.

 

SKY-WALKER:

–But hold; there’s a final choice.

 

VADER:

Speak, now, what is it?

 

SKY-WALKER:

I’ll fall from here, this

Pinnacle, this lofty place, high above the

Never-ending sky of Bespin-planet.

Thus like Phaeton shall I plummet, a shooting

Star to light the night, a meteor from

Towering Olympus. Thus shall I die,

Falling to the planet’s core, forever,

Till heat and pressure crush me, and I join

With the very stuff of great Bespin itself.

So will I die, and from this life expunge

My curs’d villain’s blood.

 

VADER:

‘Twould be a craven’s death.

 

SKY-WALKER:

Cravenly it is, and yet I’ll take it.

 

(He falls.)

 

VADER:

My purpose here upon this planet hath

Been made complete: Solo entrapped in

Impermeable carbonite, and young

Sky-walker is now dead. I’ll leave this place,

And hie me back to Courescant, await

My lord’s command. Emperor Palpatine

Constructeth a new Death Star, to destroy

Forever the Rebel Alliance. I’ll

Go there, and then make war ‘pon the hated

Rebel Fleet. I shall away. Sky-walker is slain,

The Rebels routed, and thus I take my leave.

 

(Exeunt.)

Leave a Reply

