out in the cold

Posted: February 4, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Because I am an idiot, I forgot to bring my camera up to Kirkwood with me.

But trust me when I say that Kirkwood is a place transformed. There’s snow everywhere– not deep, by Kirkwood standards, only up to an average-sized person’s waist, but even so it’s so different from Winter Break. The mountains are covered in powder– the exact same mountains that were brown and exposed when I posted pictures of my ski trip last month. Nearly everything is open, and while I’d like it if there was a lot more snow, it’s not too crowded and the skies are bluebird clear.

Nearly everything was open (except for Lifts 14 and 15, which are kind of the weird, runty newborns of the Kirkwood litter). I spent most of my time today on Lift 2, with a couple of trips over the backside to 3. Hopefully by the end of this season, I’ll be good enough to do the stuff that I used to be able to do– namely, black diamond bowls at the top of the mountain.

Right now I’m relaxing by the fire, enjoying an evening of reading and blogging. Maybe I’ll watch a movie later. Who knows?

Saturdays are awesome.

~ Ian

Comments
  1. Erica Berg says:

    Sounds nice. What are you reading in the novel department? I am glad you weren’t hurt on your spectacular slide down the mountain!

Leave a Reply

