My Ski Trip

Posted: January 10, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m back at college in Santa Cruz now, and I have to say: the air is friggin’ thick down here. How can all of you lowlanders stand it?

I have a lot of pictures to show you guys. First of all, though, I’d like to point out: Tahoe had an epic winter last year. The winter of 2010/11 will go down in history as one of the best ski winters in recorded history. It dumped powder nearly all winter, and Kirkwood (where I usually ski) still had snow in JULY.

This winter? Well, I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves…

This is the view outside our cabin on the 28th of December. As you can see, there is almost no snow.

Oh, and it’s not like we’re in the Sierra foothills here. This picture was taken at nearly EIGHT THOUSAND FEET.

Seriously. I’d file a complaint with the people who control the weather, but Google won’t give me their number. So we’re stuck… at least, until the Snowmakers’ Union strike is over.

Moving on…

This is the view from the top of Lift 5, Kirkwood’s main intermediate lift. Over on the right, you can see the camera strap blowing into frame. That is because there were 40 mile an hour winds when this picture was taken.

On the left side, you can see part of a person in a guacamole-colored jacket. This is my dad.

Like I mentioned: there should be snow BURYING the mountain this time of year. Sigh…

At one point, we drove into Meyers to get groceries, and I took pictures.

A lot.

Of pictures.

Jannek, my German brother, down by Caples Lake, taking pictures as well. Sigh… at least the lake is frozen.

Umm…

Who are these strange people? A new breed of suburban gangster from the streets of LA? Dread cultists, the face of their demon god emblazoned on their chests?

No. It’s just my brother Calum and his girlfriend Gabby, modeling their new matching Elmo pajamas and beanies.

I didn’t know they made Elmo pajamas in adult sizes. And I love Calum’s expression here. He looks so embarrassed.

At one point, Jannek went to the pool. When he returned, he found that his wet bathing suit, once as pliable as any other, had frozen into a rigid, folded configuration.

At least it was below freezing that night.

Wait. Did I say that it didn’t snow at all on this trip? Actually, it did. A little bit. Just a sprinkling, though.

Sigh…

Regretfully yours,

~ Ian

Comments
  1. Hagar Qim says:

    Looks like a time

Leave a Reply

